Early Jags 53 Man Roster Predictions By Zack.

Posted on Updated on

 

(Image by Jacksonville.com )

By: Zack Hochrien 

As of recently, a hot topic in the Jaguars hashtag of Twitter has been early roster predictions, and though I have yet to check out any of the links on Twitter with these projections, our own Zach Hochrein sent me his early roster projections and I must say…it’s a rather interesting write up. And yes, we’re are well aware we are months away from final cuts, but here at IES we like to keep things interesting. That said, enjoy. 

2014 Post Draft Depth Chart Predictions – Jacksonville Jaguars

Total number of active players: 53 with 1 projected to the PUP list.

QB
1. Chad Henne
2. Blake Bortles
3. Stephen Morris
RB
1. Toby Gerhart
2. Storm Johnson
3. Terrence Cobb

4. Denard Robinson
WR

1. Allen Robinson
2. Marqise Lee
3. Ace Sanders
4. Cecil Short III
5. Allen Hurns
6. Damian Copeland
7. Tandon Doss (Special Teams Ace)

TE
1. Marcedes Lewis
2. Clay Harbor
3. Marcel Jensen

OL
LT – Luke Joeckel
LG – Zane Beadles
C – Brandon Linder
RG – Tyler Shatley
RT – Austin Pasztor
OL Depth

Patrick Lewis, Jacques McClendon, Luke Bowanko and Cam Bradfield
LEO
1. Chris Clemons
2. Jason Babin
3. Andre Branch
4. Chris Smith
1T
1. DeAndre Coleman
2. Jordan Miller
3T
1. SenDerrick Marks
2. Ziggy Hood
5T
1. Red Bryant
2. Abry Jones
WILL (Weakside LB)

Dekoda Watson
MLB

Paul Posluszny
SAM (Strongide LB)

Geno Hayes
LB Depth

Telvin Smith, Spencer Shuey and Ryan Davis
CB 1

Alan Ball
CB 2

Dwayne Gratz
Nickel

Will Blackmon
FS

Winston Guy
SS

Jonathan Cyprien
DB Depth

Demetrius McCray, Craig Loston, Rashaad Reynolds, Jeremy Harris,
K

Josh Scobee
P

Bryan Anger

Notable PUP Players 

Aaron Colvin


 

I guess I’ll start with the QB’s as I believe both Henne and Bortles make the teams (shocker, right?). I highly doubt Morris does, though, being that teams don’t really keep 3 QB’s on their roster anymore . I think it’s more likely he’ll be on the practice squad when it’s all said and done.
I was also surprised to see that Zack had Shorts as the #4 WR on the roster. According to reports, the Jags have been interested in extending him and for what he’ll get paid, I can’t help but think he’ll be one of the top two wide-outs on the roster. Also, I don’t think Hurns and Copeland will both make the roster as one will likely go to the teams practice squad if the other makes it.
On the offensive line I was surprised to see Shatley starting at RG over Linder who was at center. I personally don’t think Linder has the strength to hold up against the nose tackles of the league and would prefer him at RG over C. As for Shatley, I do think he makes the roster as Zack does (possibly as a starter, but likely as a backup).

Now on the defensive end I noticed that Roy Miller wasn’t on the roster. To me he wasn’t exactly spectacular though he has battled through several injuries. It wouldn’t surprise me if he is cut during the teams final cuts before week 1 of the regular season, but due to the fact that the team would have to rely on an undrafted rookie in Deandre Coleman to man the middle the whole season, I think they will lean towards keeping Miller. It would likely take a very spectacular training camp for Coleman to win the starting NT job over Miller, though I do think he’ll make the roster as a backup. Unlike Zack, I also believe Tyson AluAlu will stick around. I feel as he’d compliment Red Bryant perfectly as the teams second five-technique as opposed to Abry Jones.

At the LEO position the depth chart is a little crowded to say the least. Chris Clemons was signed by the team, and they also brought back veteran pass-rusher Jason Babin. Below the both of them are Andre Branch, who most would say flashed a bit last season and a former undrafted DE in Ryan Davis. The team also recently added Arkansas DE Chris Smith through the 5th round of the draft this year, giving the position 5 players fighting for a spot. That said, I’d like to keep all 5 personally, but I think that maybe highly unlikely in the end. When it’s all said and done, I think the team may reluctantly pull the plug on Davis, who is the youngest and least experienced of the the veterans, to make a spot for Chris Smith. Zack, on the other hand believes Davis may be able to change positions to OLB, but I personally don’t know if that position fits his skill-set.

Aside from the positions above, I agree with Zack’s projections for the most part. In all likelihood, we could both be way off however as there is a lot of time for the roster to shape up. One thing that is for certain though, and that’s the fact that the Jags are going into this season’s training camp with a lot more experience and talent than last year, and that into consideration you can put some money on it that this will be the most interesting training camp we’ve seen in a while.

Feel free to give us your feedback and roster projections, and also stay tuned as we’ll have more of these projections to come in the next few months leading up into the season.

And as usual we appreciate the views. Feel free to follow Zach as he can be found on Twitter under the handle of @ZhochZeus.

One thought on “Early Jags 53 Man Roster Predictions By Zack.

    Zach said:
    May 23, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    No chance on Shorts at #4. I also feel Mike Brown will make the team over one of the UDFA’s at WR. I expect Jordan Todman to have a decent shot at the team, with Denard Robinson also likely making it I doubt Cobb sticks (even without him, Johnson or Todman could be cut). I also think they keep FB Will Ta’ufo’ou. On defense I am not so certain but I do have this random liking of S Chris Prosinski

Leave a Reply

